Pensive

pub

It’s a new year. It’s the dawn, the birth, the conception, the beginning. It’s the unknown, the unexpected, the unfamiliar.

I am pensive, reflective, introspective. 2016 for me, like many was not the best of years…not the worst, but it was up there. Like most, I began the year positive, optimistic, gung-ho! In the end I just about manged to drag myself across December 31st thanking every deity out there that I made it. I survived 2016!

It wasn’t all doom and gloom though. There were many laughs, new experiences and some professional progress. I wish with said progress came some financial reward but hey, I should be grateful. I made stupid decisions, I lost friends, I had my name and reputation dragged through the mud. I also made some great decisions and not only made new friends and rekindled old friendships, but strengthened the bond with some beautiful people with the most genuine of souls. I’ve lovingly labelled a particular group “The Amethyst Crew”…..inside joke šŸ˜€ . I also learned a great deal about myself.

I have begun a new decade of life. I am thankful that I made it. I’m also thankful for seeing my adorable daughter complete her first decade. So I sit and I think. How has that last decade been for me? What will I do differently this decade? How can I give more, live more, love more, accept more? What will I do differently? How will I develop mentally and physically….and trust me after Christmas and birthday the physical needs developing! How can I be a better father, a better son, a better brother, a better friend? Will I stop being cautious and open myself up to give and receive love?

This post is ridiculously ‘heavy’ isn’t it? I do think it is important that we enjoy life. We only have one go at it so make the best of it. Be adventurous, be creative, be spontaneous. Every coin has two sides however, and we must continue to be thoughtful. To think about someone other than ourselves. To give without expecting praise or recognition. To laugh with, not at…this one may be tricky, even for me šŸ™‚ . To learn so we can teach.

And that concludes my preaching for this year!! Thank you my WordPress family as usual for all your support and encouragement over the years. Thanks for allowing me to use this forum to share with you and I wish you all everything that is positive for this year and beyond. God bless, live strong and one love šŸ™‚

 

 

2 thoughts on “Pensive

Leave a Reply

