Different but the Same

oars

Are we accepting of each other’s differences or have we become more tolerant? Are we even tolerant or do we just choose to be quiet and keep our opinions to ourselves? I’m talking about acceptance of race, gender, sexual orientation, religion and all the other labels that have been given to us, by us as HUMAN BEINGS. Why are we afraid to celebrate our differences? Are we so ignorant and/or blind to realise even though we have our differences we still share the same planet, breathe the same air, bleed the same blood, are of the same race? Where is our humanity?

I’m trying to be positive. I’m trying to be optimistic. I’m trying to believe in us as a people, but I’m writing this post with a heavy heart. Why are we so selfish? Why are we going around hating the world with our arrogant selves thinking that the world owes us something? From experience I have found that if you surround yourselves with people of a certain mindset, you eventually adopt that mindset, intentionally or not. My grandmother used to tell me when I was younger that “If you lie down with dogs you will catch fleas.” I’ve never forgotten that.

I therefore try and surround myself with the type of people who I share similar thoughts and interests with. People who believe in love, equality, empathy, sympathy, generosity, fairness. People with positive mental attitudes. Why? Because I’ve been to hell and back. I’ve been down the slippery slope. I’ve been beaten down by people, disappointed by people, hurt by people. It was people however, who supported me, who listened to me, who hugged me, who sat quietly and shared a pint (or two) with me, who told me to get my arse in gear and stop being a…(sorry can’t type that here). These people restored my faith in humanity.

It saddens me that people are allowing themselves to be sucked in by ideology, by mainstream media, by other people. It saddens me that people are trying to live other people’s lives instead of their own. It saddens me that we are killing each other.

You may wonder why I end my posts with the phrase “One love”. It is because I love and respect everyone regardless of our differences. This is universal love that I share with you. Hopefully you will help me and pay it forward, spread it, live it. One love 🙂

10 thoughts on “Different but the Same

  1. Very well said! I’ve always had a hard time surrounding myself with people who are not only positive, but who will challenge me, intellectually, who are interested in non-trivial things, and who aren’t afraid of a good old-fashioned argument, without getting feelings hurt. It seems sometimes that we have regressed, becoming immature and even more selfish than our natures are pre-disposed to. In a word, childish. Maybe we’ve always been that way and I didn’t notice. I could go on, but I agree, what the world needs most is (as always) more love.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree. It seems like we are becoming more feral. Perhaps we’ve been desensitised. I hope things change. Thanks for stopping by and for commenting. One love 🙂

      Like

  2. I must admit to loitering around your blog for some time now being fascinated with your photography and thoughtful insights into life. Sadly facebook seems to have overtaken many of the philosophical blogs which I used to enjoy reading.

    A couple of comments about tolerance. I write from the perspective of one who grew up in the racist, homophobic and religiously divided Australia during the middle of last century and as a child accepted this brainwashing as ‘the way it should be’. Since then (along with many of my generation) I have come to understand the gross intolerance and ignorance which existed then. (Australian aborigines were officially classed as ‘flora and fauna’ until the 1960’s) We have gradually become a much richer multicultural society with all the wonderful benefits that accrue. As there is relatively little divisiveness in 2016 I have reason to be optimistic about our future, but I know that this does not hold true in other parts of the world. Like you, I am totally bewildered by warfare and the inability of mankind to use it’s intellect rather than brute force to solve local and international disputes.

    Thank you for the explanation for signing off ‘one love’.

    Best wishes and I hope you continue with your photography and writing,

    Ian

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for stopping by Ian. I’m glad there has been movement in the right direction in Australia and I hope the trend continues. We will continue to live in hope. Small steps. Many a chess game has been won by pawns. One love brother 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. One love. It’s getting more and more difficult to live with that tenet. I grew up with a father who always showed respect and care for others no matter skin color or faith or social status. I tried to live the same way. But I do not understand those who follow like sheep. And I can not love those who only hate!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

