Social Interaction

phonesbw

With the way we communicate these days, one could probably say that these two are deep in conversation! With each other? With others? Who knows! In reality, they are probably just exchanging numbers so they can contact each other at a later time….probably via text message, WhatsApp or Facebook. Have you seen people on their phones lately? The dexterity of their thumbs is incredible! I mean I truly admire the skill, speed and accuracy with which they use those two digits…digits that at one time were associated with clumsiness!

I wrote a post a couple of years ago about ‘Snail mail’ that made me question whether handwriting will eventually become redundant or be a special skill. I wonder if talking is slowly going down that route? I have some friends that can talk for England, and then some, but I am observing that there appears to be a decline not only in social interaction (says the guy who’s typing away at his keyboard instead of being sociable right?), but the quality of social interaction as well.

Little things like smiling at a stranger or even saying good morning or hello seems to be as painful as drinking acid for some people. We avoid eye contact and plug ourselves into our iPods or other media when travelling to escape, albeit audibly from our surroundings. I wonder if those people without books, newspapers or headphones feel vulnerable or uncomfortable on crowded transport?

I am not a very talkative person and I could easily go through a day without exercising my vocal chords. It’s not that I want to hide away and not talk to people, I just don’t have anything to say. Some people find my silence or ‘quiet moments’ uncomfortable, but to be honest, I sometimes find those ‘quiet moments’ most comfortable, especially when I’m with someone who understands me.

Does that mean that I don’t interact socially? Of course not. The point I’m trying to make is that we have become so dependent on our phones, smart watches, tablets, etc. that we can’t seem to prise ourselves away from them. How many of us find it easier to communicate via text message, email or Facebook? How many of us when we do go out talk about things we saw or read on social media? We don’t even ask each other how we are anymore because that information had been posted on Facebook the moment we woke up. We publish our entire lives and then boast about the number of friends we have and likes we got. Here’s a question for you…How many of us actually use our dining tables for meals and not just have them in the house as storage areas and clothes horses? How many of us who do use our dining tables turn the TV off while we’re having dinner? How many of us actually sit at the dining table as a family and talk to each other?

Yes I do use Twitter and Instagram and WhatsApp but I wouldn’t get a stroke or experience twitchy thumb withdrawal if I couldn’t access them anymore. Ever had that moment of silence while sat with a group and then the phones slowly come out? Is this post ironic? Am I being a hypocrite? Just a thought. What are yours? Don’t shout at me all at once! Happy Monday. One love 😀

4 thoughts on “Social Interaction

  1. I think the worst is for young children, whose parents are focusing more on their mobile than on their children. There is a special energy around someone who looks into a screen. That person may be totally present with someone online (yes, I do think we connect for real online), but he/she is definitely not present with the people next to them. I think children must sense this absence, and I wonder how it affects them…
    Thanks, your post gave me some things to think about!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I certainly believe they pick up on the ‘absences’. Many parents think that because they are in the same room with their kids that they are spending quality time with them. I’ve seen mobile phones and tablets become nannies and pacifiers. Before they can even speak, children are well trained in using these. Very worrying times. It’s not all bad though, there are many of us who are spending quality time with our children. Glad you got something from the post. One love 🙂

      Like

  2. I live in a place where cell phone coverage is spotty – there aren’t many towers and there’s often a mountain between you and it, so your phone won’t get a signal. Tourists here are easy to spot by their phone withdrawal symptoms: wild eyes, scowling at their phones, and then that look of hopeful joy when they spot a phone booth.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Leaning out of windows or walking around the room, arm stretched to try and pick up a signal is one that makes me chuckle as well. Hope you’re well. One love 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

