Luminosity

Image

I took this random photo the other day while having drinks with a friend…ok maybe not the best photo of a candle I’ve ever taken but it made me think about light. The effect that light has, the way it transforms things, the mood it creates, its practical uses, the shadows and silhouettes that can be formed by it. Perhaps I had one too many drinks!

It gets better! I ran into this quote today by Edith Wharton “There are two ways of spreading light; to be the candle or the mirror that reflects it.” Then I thought to myself…Can I be the flame that lights someone’s candle? Can I be the one to brighten a person’s day, illuminate their darkness? How do I prevent my flame from going out? Am I using flames of kindness, courtesy, love, motivation, encouragement? Do I extinguish people’s candles by walking around with a face like a smacked arse? Being negative? Do I want to engulf them in darkness because my candle isn’t lit? Food for thought.

Let’s keep the flame alive and “…don’t blow out someone else’s candle just so yours can shine brighter.” One love. 🙂

Leave a Reply

