Colour me black and white

I haven’t been doing much with the camera except for last week when a friend asked me to take some photos for her. Due to being ‘hayfever cursed’ and the pollen count being high, I decided to stay indoors when it’s nearly 30 degrees outside and have a play with the pictures while watching the Wimbledon men’s final….at the same time! Who said men can’t multitask! Anyway, still working on the black and white theme and have a long way to go to understanding different hues. Will keep practicing. Here are a few of what I did.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

As I was editing the photos I began thinking about colourย and the effect that colour has or can have. Holistic practitioners believe that colour can have or do have very powerful healing properties. Colour therapy or Chromotherapyย is commonly practiced and is used to re-energise or rebalance the chakras.

Do different colours affect you differently? Do you notice that when the day is sunny people tend to be in high spirits? Does this have to do with the effect of light and colour on us? I suffer from Seasonal Affective Disorder. Not an uncommon disorder but apart from dosing up on vitamin D, the short, grey days really gets me stressed, depressed, anxious, the usual symptoms, and this might sound strange but yellow, lilac or the right shade of blue tends to have a calming effect on me.

I can see the skeptics among us rolling their eyes while reading this. Is it a matter of ‘belief healing’ or does chromotherapy really work? Does light and colour have a profound effect on our physical, emotional and spiritual wellbeing? One love.

4 thoughts on “Colour me black and white

  1. I love your first picture with the horse ๐Ÿ™‚

    I am an interior designer and I know for a fact how light can influence moods. There are light studies that show that people are happier at a certain amount of lumen, so you could purchase the right lighting and you might lose the Seasonal Affective Disorder…

    I’m thinking of buying a light box next winter OR I might not need it since I will be moving around that time and that’s exciting ๐Ÿ™‚

    I also believe in the effects of colors on people’s moods… I do think it might be different for every person, but most of us find blue’s and greens relaxing, reds and yellows vibrant and yellow or orange uplifting ๐Ÿ™‚

    How have you been by the way? I have been too busy… again.

    Like

    • Hey you. Long time! I’m glad you like the picture. I’ve been reading a lot about colour therapy and it’s amazing how colour and light can affect people’s moods. I wonder if people choose their room colours depending on the mood they’re in? Do you think they’re aware of what colours can do? Do you think people who suffer from insomnia, S.A.D. and other ailments realise that they may have painted their room the wrong colour and might have the wrong type of lighting? Is there a wrong colour? As an interior designer how do you persuade people to choose certain colours when they don’t particularly like that colour? I suppose the same applies to clothing. Very interesting.

      I’m doing well. Positive things have been happening in my life so I’m grateful. How are you? Are you preparing for the big move? Did you do the skydive? How’s the dating going? Good to see you back ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • Shame on me for not being on here since I last wrote you back ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
        I agree about light therapy ๐Ÿ™‚ I think most people aren’t aware what colour could do. I definitely have the wrong lighting ๐Ÿ™‚ that’s also part of why I need to move (no direct sunlight after 10 in the morning here), I think most people aren’t aware of the effects and the fact that you need a certain amount of lumen to be happy and funtion the way you could. I think there is a wrong colour, but it’s personal. We would always go for yellow/white neutral light for our designs, but one of our realisations has orange light (requested by the owner) and now that it’s ready: it’s gorgeous!! So it might depend on the project too… We can’t force colours on people ๐Ÿ™‚ so if I suggest a colour and the client doens’t like it, we will go for the colour that he/she wants and adapt the design to it where necessary ๐Ÿ™‚ we’re a service. I think maybe the really famous (interior) architects can force their decissions on a client, but I’m not sure if I’d be comfortable doing that.

        I’m happy that you had positive things in your life. Hope they’re still happening? I am doing good, sometimes a bit sad about the usual, but I’m trying to change my mindset into thinking/believing that everything is how it’s supposed to be. And that gives me some strenght at though times. I’m sooo ready for my move, seriously, this waiting is bugging me now. I’m almost in half… still 78 days (11 weeks), I’ll throw a party when we arrive at 10 because I’m in half then… started waiting at about 20 weeks. In the meantime my studio is completely decorated and I even drew a plan for my garden ๐Ÿ™‚ so I think I’m pretty ready.
        You read about the skydive ๐Ÿ™‚
        The dating is going on, I haven’t felt a connection with anyone yet. A few start of great online, but then something happens (either in real life or before we meet). For example: a guy with whome I have a lot in common wanted to meet, so I suggested a weekend, but the guy can only meet me in the week, because he’s a professional sports person and has to compete during weekends… meaning: he will never have time for me in those weekends, unless I bend my schedule to him (which I would, but it’s never appreciated by men until now, so I won’t go there), on the contrary I have a very full week, and more time in the weekends. Pfff annoying.
        So tell me about your happy adventures ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

