The ‘scents’ of smell

I was waiting at the bus stop tonight on my way home when this woman walked past me. She was wearing a fragrance that I haven’t smelled for about 20 years! I kid you not! My high school girlfriend wore the same perfume!  All of a sudden I was back in Jamaica at my old high school reminiscing about the good times and the laughs we had, not just together as a couple but the times with our mutual friends. What an amazing memory. Such happy times…by far the best of my life!

Is there a particular scent that reminds you of a place or someone? A scent that takes you back to a pleasurable time or experience? A scent that reminds you of something or a place or someone not so pleasant? For me it’s the smell of the sea, the smell of jerk smoke billowing out of a BBQ drum. The smell of Dettol…love you mum! :). These scents remind me of growing up, of home, of my family back there.

Are there any scents that you like in particular besides the usual? I’m not talking about scents like coffee brewing, freshly baked bread, sautéed onions, your favourite shower gel, shampoo, after shave or anything like that. I’m talking about the not so commonly talked about ones. For example, I love the smell of damp earth, the smell of petrol, leather, shoe polish and…almost embarrassed to say this but, clipper oil! You know the oil you put on the clipper blades to stop them rusting or sticking? yeah that one! Very hard to find that now as most modern clipper blades are ceramic! dammit! Yes I’m unique! haha!

Don’t you find it incredible how a sense that we take for granted is one that can have such a powerful and profound effect on us? Many people talk about what they would do if they lost their sight or hearing and how it would affect them. What would we do without our sense of smell? In my mind I see the colours of the world draining to black and white…strange I know, but everything…food, flowers, would all be different shades of gray.  What would you do if you lost your sense of smell? How would you feel? Smell you later (and no I haven’t been drinking, just in case you’re wondering about the ‘randomness’ of this post). One love.

6 thoughts on “The ‘scents’ of smell

  1. Reblogged this on Swell Flowering Cultivation and commented:
    The smell of freshly cut grass… Reminds me of my childhood and summer. Only bad thing: I’m also allergic for it during July (hay fever) so it also reminds me of that and that’s less nice.

    Bbq’s also remind me of my childhood and summer obviously

    The smell of wood burning reminds me of winter 🙂 very cosy.

    And axe deodorant fragrance Africa reminds me of my first boyfriend. And so my adolescent years.

    Like

  2. I like the smell of pigeons and chickens (livings ones not cooked ones!) and I like the smell of my pet sheep. She smells lovely unless she’s been rolling in something …. smelly….
    But almost nothing beats the smell of a freshly opened pack of coffee. For me it’s nothing “usual” but something special because I love coffee.
    Well, one weird thing that people don’t understand is that I love the smell of deep heat cream. Sometimes I use it even though I don’t have sore muscles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

