Isn’t it funny…

…how people come into our lives at the right moment? I actually had a decent day at work today. The sun is out and I had a very motivating conversation with a couple of friends tonight. I also received a postcard from someone very dear to me that made my evening even better!

I’ve been quite the ‘floater’ the last few months, just getting on with it. Not knowing where my life was heading, not sure what I wanted out of life, what I had to offer, did I have anything to offer, would anyone miss me if I disappeared, what was my motivation, my purpose, would I be able to get out of this negative hole that I dug for myself, the list list goes on. I met up with a few friends for coffee a couple months ago and that saw the birth of my blogging and the re-birth of my interest in photography and music.

This blogging business has proven very therapeutic in more ways than one. It has become the outlet for my thoughts, and I have met people who, although virtual, share common thoughts, opinions, ideas, who give me things to think about and who have been very encouraging and friendly. So to everyone who has been reading and responding to my posts, thank you very much and your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Today was one of those days that made me realise that I DO have a purpose and that I am appreciated. People are often quick to offer consolation and play ‘shrink’ at the time we talk to them but very rarely follow up on it….the out of sight out of mind type. I have been seriously thinking about a career change lately and this evening I managed to have a very frank conversation with a couple of friends who not only provided encouragement but ALSO showed me practical ways of going about making my next steps and who ACTIVELY showed REAL interest in me and the direction I might go.

I’ve had my up days and my down days that we all have and the cogs in my head are always spinning at a hundred MPH! Today my cogs were slowed down and I was able to share my concerns and receive constructive criticism and encouragement. I was able to step back and look at myself from the outside. Isn’t it funny how when we find ourselves starting to despair and de-rail that God, the universe, whoever or whatever, sends someone or more to nudge us back onto that train line? When we feel that no-one understands and no matter how much we try and explain, we feel that they just don’t get it? Some very special people have come into my life in the course of the last year who have proven me wrong and have shown that they do understand. They have shown me that I am important, not only to them but to many people, and that I do have a positive effect on people’s lives.

I now more than ever believe that people come into our lives at different times for different reasons. Some, if we’re lucky stick around and others show themselves for a while and then disappear like a cloud of smoke on a windy day. The lesson they leave with us is unforgettable. It’s the same with relationships. Sometimes we have relationships that end amicably for whatever reason and we remember the fond times we shared. Some don’t end as well but we take the lessons learned from those to make us stronger, wiser people.

Many of us feel alone in our struggles. Even though we may have people around us and so-called ‘friends’, we still fight that mental battle on our own, and we need to. No-one can defeat our demons but us…whatever form they manifest themselves. There are however people who pop up every now and again to reload our guns with bullets of ‘positiveness’, encouragement, laughter, hope, motivation. Sometimes if we come across a massive nemesis, they will even help us hold the bazooka to defeat the bugger!

As I have been encouraged, I’m sending it out to you. Although I can’t be there with you physically or provide anything tangible, I hope that these words will help you in your battle with life. Yes YOU will have to make the decisive moves but you are not as alone as you think you are. There are people out there…good people who care and who will run with you until you get to the edge of your cliff and decide to jump into the unknown, using your fear, your hopes, your concerns, your cautious optimism and excitement as the parachute that will land you safely on your feet. I have been given fresh clean petrol, my car has had its service and I’m once again ready to buckle up and speed into the future. I have no idea how long the petrol will last, but for now, the top’s down and i’m off! Be encouraged. You…we can do it! One love.

8 thoughts on “Isn’t it funny…

  1. Yeah Damo, it’s really these moments that make us realize that we can make a difference and use to our benefit. Full up our cup and share with the world! And guess what? I have already done some ‘filling the forms’ over the internet. Next step: calls … and off we go! ONE LOVE!

    Like

  2. As usual the word speaks to a time in my life, “right now” where in my search for a new job, new passion I am overcome with fear of the unknown. But the charge in the word “I’m once again ready to buckle up n speed into the future” incites a vision of hope n fervour, a destination attainable but will be a journey through turbulent trials which will require manual piloting maneuvering to a safe landing. To my dear friend, the author, beautiful and refreshing are the thoughts you express its like I was bout to be withered but you watered my spirit n empowered my ego to fullfil the dream, my dream SUCCESS.

    Like

    • And if you put in the leg work, success will be yours. Hold on brother and sink that accelerator pedal. You are destined for great things! Love you man. Hold tight!

      Like

  3. I know the situation you were describing, e.g. not knowing whether I have something to offer and whether anyone would actually miss me, floating along etc. My brain also tells me that things will become better some day, maybe. But my heart and soul are rather negative. Blogging certainly helps because it’s a way to connect to like-minded people.

    Like

    • Most definitely. I feel a lot ‘lighter’ since I’ve started blogging and it’s reassuring to know that there are people who share my sentiments. πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

