People

Image

Do you people watch? I do. Have you ever sat somewhere looking through a window and take in the many different sizes and shapes that go by? Have you ever tried to Psycho-analyse people? I do it quite often. ย I wonder what’s going through their heads. Even people I meet, I try to compile a character profile of them. Generally I’m quite accurate, but sometimes I can get it so wrong! Why do we do this? Is it because we’re consciously or subconsciously looking for compatibility? Are we judging the book by its cover? How many of us have got it totally wrong? How many of us have said either to the person or to ourselves that we really got them wrong. We didn’t know they were that ‘type‘ of person? What makes us have ‘instant’ connections with some people but yet see some people as really creepy or dodgy, or get negative ‘vibes’ from some people?

Image

I’ve had the pleasure of meeting many lovely people. Some who initially I thought “you’re a right surly, miserable git aren’t you?” but after getting to know them I often say to them how I thought they were in the beginning and how wrong I was. I find that these people are usually funny as hell! and quite ‘deep’. I’ve been told by some people that they thought I was arrogant…can you believe that? Me? Arrogant? Thankfully they told me they got me wrong. Because I didn’t talk much or got involved with the ‘crowd’, they thought I was up my arse and that I thought I was better than everyone else. Ouch! And there I was thinking I was a pretty nice guy! I suppose everyone’s entitled to their opinion.

The reason I brought the topic up today is I’ve been meeting and talking to quite a lot of people lately, some of whom I haven’t seen for a while, some I’m getting to know better and some are new. A few of the conversations had to do with their concerns about the way people see them and what people think of them. I nearly always get the…”Yeah but I don’t want people to think that I’m….” We all want to be liked and accepted but it’s got to a point now where I’m thinking what will it take for people not to give a toss and just be themselves? We think, “I know, maybe if I dress, walk, talk a certain way, people will think differently of me.” Why? Why have we become a nation of performing monkeys?

I find people intriguing. I had a very interesting conversation with a colleague today. This person is somewhat of an enigma. They shared a few things with me today that made me think…”Wow! I so wouldn’t expect to hear that from you or would imagine you’ve experienced that!” But then why would I? I don’t know them!

There’s the other side of the coin too. I was let down recently by someone who I thought was a friend. Someone I shared many things with. Someone who shared many things with me. Someone I thought I knew. Turns out I didn’t know them as well as I thought I did. I think we all know someone like that. For some reason a packet of skittles just popped into my head. I think it’s the whole rainbow thing, but I guess people can be like a pack of skittles – many different colours and flavours. We all have our favourite colour and flavour but we’ll still eat the whole packet because we don’t mind the others, even the ones we don’t particularly like. Some of us will either throw away the ones we don’t like or leave them in the bag.

We get on with some either because we have to. Probably for work or because we have some tie or connection to them. We don’t particular like or dislike them. Some people are our favourite flavour and we inspect the bag to try and find them. Those ones we eat first. The people who make us happy, who we always want to be with, have a laugh with, even work with. Then there are the ones we either throw away or leave in the bag because we don’t like them. They leave a bad taste in our mouths…know what I mean? Let’s be honest, we don’t like everybody and we never will. Just like not everyone will like us. Some flavours we used to like we don’t like anymore! Some we may even be allergic to! Hahaha! :D. Does it make us hypocrites if we eat the ones we don’t like?

We are all in the same packet though and what may taste good to some may not taste good to others. Stay sweet people. One love.

4 thoughts on “People

  1. When you peel those pretty sugar coatings off, each skittle is the same lump of chewy old glucose!

    Like

  2. This part: We all want to be liked and accepted but itโ€™s got to a point now where Iโ€™m thinking what will it take for people not to give a toss and just be themselves? We think, โ€œI know, maybe if I dress, walk, talk a certain way, people will think differently of me.โ€ Why? Why have we become a nation of performing monkeys?

    Reminded me of this blogpost I read yesterday: http://tinybuddha.com/blog/recovering-the-pain-of-bullying-and-finding-confidence-as-an-adult/

    You should end with the ones you like best: their great taste will stay longer in your mouth ๐Ÿ˜‰ hihi. With food: I am against waist, so I will eat the ones I don’t like as much, in real life I will be as kind as possible to people I don’t like, because I want the people who don’t like me to treat me that way too ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t think that is hypocrit, I think it’s just a matter of making things easy for each other and most of all: yourself. (it doen’t make me any happier to treat someone poorly, but I will feel better if I treat them the same as other people)

    Like

    • Interesting. I never thought about that, leaving the best til last. Like you said, we treat people as how we would expect to be treated ourselves. Unfortunately some people can’t quite understand that concept. I tend to leave those skittles in the bag. If I don’t have to eat them I won’t. I will always be polite and civil though. As long as we do our little bit then inside we will make ourselves happy. Thanks for the link. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

