Every Cloud…

ImageEvery cloud has a silver lining. What does that mean to you? Every rose has its thorn (not a big Poison fan by the way, I just like the phrase). What does that mean to you? I guess we could basically say that there is some good or positive that can arise from every bad or negative situation, and that not everything that looks good is without blemish. That’s the way I see it anyway. Swans look beautiful and graceful on the surface but we don’t see the hard work that is their legs paddling away beneath.

How many of us focus on the cloud and not the lining? The rose but not the thorns? How many of us think our clouds are so dark that the only thing that they contain is rain, lightning and thunder? We are so consumed by our own depression, so drenched in the thunderstorm of never ending disappointments, that we think this cloud will forever follow us and eventually drown us in that depressing flood of life! I’ve felt like that a few times. How many of us see people and envy them because they look so happy and their lives look like roses in full bloom? What about their thorns? Sometimes I want to get the rose but these damn thorns keep sticking me and drawing blood? Am I going to give up? Am I going to lose hope? Will I let life’s thorns prevent me from reaching that rose? Maybe I want to give that rose…myself…to someone so they can feel better, put a smile on their face, if only for a little while.

I didn’t have the greatest day at work today and on the way home I did some serious introspection. The conclusion? I am extremely ungrateful. I have it easy compared to so many thousands of people in the world. I have life. I have all my limbs. I have a job. I have the most wonderful child any man in the world could ever wish for. I have somewhere to sleep. The list is endless.

I have instead wallowed in the negative experiences that I’ve had, rather than seeing the silver lining that is the lesson learned from those experiences. The opportunity to say that yes, I went through that and I’ve come out a better person because of it! How many of us dwell in the negative realm? How many of us are grateful for what we have? Who we are? The fact that we have been given a chance to walk this earth and be a part of such a wonderful thing called nature and the human race? Life, no matter what it brings us, is something to be cherished and celebrated.

I thought of the stars today. I haven’t seen a starry night for a while, but I remember going hiking in the mountains while at university and remember lying on my roll mat, looking up and seeing nothing but a shimmering sea of light. I will never forget that! I’m grateful for that. I also thought about one of my previous posts and how difficult it was for me to do that list. Maybe it was because of my state of mind that particular day. Today it was easier.

I know it’s extremely difficult to see our silver lining when we are at a low point in our life, and we walk around like we’re having an outer body experience, trying to look like roses. The good thing is everyone knows that roses have thorns and they know that we hurt. Maybe that silver lining is meeting someone who can share their experience with us. Someone who can give us insight and a different perspective on things. Sometimes it can be an absolute stranger. I’ve known these things to happen.

I don’t know why I felt compelled to write like this tonight but I want you to be encouraged, to know that your cloud has a silver lining and that through your thorns you will become a sweet smelling rose, full of radiant beauty. Stay strong and keep reaching for your rose. Look for your silver lining, the sun will poke through. One love.

3 thoughts on “Every Cloud…

  1. If you are the rose you want to give to others… then what about your thorns ๐Ÿ™‚ how will you give your thorns to them?

    Reaching for Paulo Coelho once more: โ€œI don’t regret my painful times, i bare my scars as if they were medals. I know that freedom has a high price, as high as that of slavery; the only difference is that you pay with pleasure and a smile, even when that that smile dimmed by tearsโ€

    The negative leave scars, so you won’t forget the lessons you learned from them… they are like warrior stripes you earned. The possitive are always there, but they need you to notice them… or have patience. Because “the scars of a smile” grow slowly in the form of some laughter-wrinckles ๐Ÿ™‚

    AND

    โ€œDefeat is for the valiant. Only they will know the honour of losing and the joy of winning
    I am not here to tell you that defeat is a part of life: we all know that. Only the defeated know Love. Because it is in the realm of love that we fight our first battles โ€“ and generally lose.
    I am here to tell you that there are people who have never been defeated.
    They are the ones who never fought.
    They managed to avoid scars, humiliations, feelings of helplessness, as well as those moments when even warriors doubt the existence of God.โ€™โ€™ โ€• Paulo Coelho, Manuscript Found in Accra

    Like

    • Great point! I don’t think I’d present myself with any thorns. They have enough thorns of their own. My stalk would be free of thorns but would still bear the scars as a point of reference. Memories, lessons learned, resources I can draw on when needed to provide encouragement and support. I want them to see me in my brilliance as a rose to help bring some joy to them. “The scars of a smile grow slowly in the form of some laughter – wrinkles”. I love that! Very interesting comment, thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • So proud ๐Ÿ™‚ because now you are quoting me ^^

        I believe we all have thorns too… they might be invisible to us and at first we will manage to disguise them, but they’re will always be something there. Nobody’s perfect; I know we will always try our best, but some things just go under the radar… anyhow: our best is all we can do ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

