Who are you?

Who are you? Who are YOU? How many times have we asked ourselves this question?Who am I? Am I me? Or am I who I think I should be, who people want me to be? That question has given me headache upon headache! When you’re young you often get asked, What do you want to be when you grow up? Who do you want to be like? Who is your role model? I found that my freedom of choice was severely restricted because I wanted to be who my parents wanted me to be. Most of the decisions I made…or that were made for me was because they were trying to mould me into someone THEY wanted me to be. I understand why they were doing it but I didn’t have the balls, or think I had the option to say no I don’t want to study that. I don’t want to go to university. I don’t know what I want to be. I had a few role models but for different reasons. I didn’t necessarily want to BE like them. I admired them for their personalities and the positive things they did. Was it the same for you?

In our relationships do we morph into the person our partner wants us to be, or who we think he/she wants us to be? Do we forsake our likes, values, heck even our diets to suit our significant other in order to be loved? Do we have an ‘agent’ or alter ego that we use in order to ‘get’ our partner before the real us comes out? How many times have we heard or said “He/she wasn’t like that when we first started going out”? Do our social circles sculpt our personalities? Are we trying so hard to fit in, to be accepted, to be liked, that we turn into these strange people that we don’t even know ourselves? Are we so used to wearing the mask that it has fused to our faces and has become a part of us? How many different masks do we have? Do we put on certain masks depending on who we’re with?

It’s time to burn those masks. It’s time to strip ourselves down to the basics and buff that diamond that we are, so that we can sparkle, so that people can see our true colours, our brilliance! so that they can be drawn to us because we are not tarnished by the people we wish to be! We have one life. We are here because we are meant to be. Why waste it trying to conform in order to be normal? To be accepted or liked? Dare to be different! Do you think that people will love you less or won’t want to be associated with you because you are different? What is ‘normal’? Who or what defines normal? We are like snowflakes…no two are the same. We might have similar traits but we are not the same. Grab hold of your individuality! Run with it! Be you!

Many of us including myself are going through the ‘buffing’ period. We are on that journey of stripping down to the basics in order to rediscover the true essence of who we are. Have you ever tried to polish a tarnished piece of silver? It takes a lot of elbow grease and sweat doesn’t it, but when you get it clean, it’s beautiful…gorgeous…you can see your face in it. In trying to polish ourselves we will have to put in the effort…make sacrifices, get rid of unnecessary things or people who do everything but encourage and motivate us. Do something different, something we wouldn’t normally do. Undo the negative, pessimistic thought processes that we have adopted. Find people, places, hobbies that will help to expose the hidden you. It’s a long tedious, sometimes lonely journey but when we get that diamond glistening or that piece of silver shining, we will see our face in it…our true face! We are all diamonds, so shine with the brilliance and magnificence that is truly you. Let’s keep buffing and polishing. One love.

One thought on “Who are you?

Leave a Reply

